Moxie & Mel











{September 3, 2006}   Dear Mel-

What a great day we had today! We headed out early this morning. We took the kids to the park and spent the rest of the day wandering at Florida Oceanographic Center. Here are a couple pictures from the park:
The Boy takes flight

Princess Poses

Bubba On The Bobble Thing

Of course, the best part for me was the total immersion in nature. I love spending time taking pictures of wildlife and flowers, so I was on cloud nine!

Sea Hibiscus

Little Blue Heron

Wading

We headed for the hills when the afternoon storms rolled in, running off to Hurricane Grill for some wings and frosty beverages.

Afternoon Thunderstorm

It broke our hearts to see what they’ve done to the place. It looks like a Miami Subs inside, all glossy and touristy. The food wasn’t nearly as good, the service was terrible and they’ve raised the prices (and made the beverage cups smaller!).

We consoled ourselves with a trip to Dunkin Donuts/Baskin Robbins- coffee and ice cream can cure a lot of ills!

I did finish off the first slipper sock for Miss Christine last night/early this morning. I used a new pattern, one I designed myself. It goes directly from the cuff into the heel and uses a thick chain woven through the cuff to make it adjustable. It just happens that Princess has the same size feet as Miss Christine, so she modeled it for me:

New Slipper Sock

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out, but I think for the next set I’ll try for more of a ‘scuff’ style. I think if I eliminate all but the last row or two of the heel, I might be able to achieve it. Anyway, I’ll have them done and ready to go tomorrow! I can’t believe how quickly they knit up. Have I mentioned I love my knitting looms?
I think we’ll probably round out the holiday weekend with a trip to the beach tomorrow. Knowing that I’ll be starting work makes me want to spend as much time with the family as possible. Can’t wait to talk to you and I hope you’re having as wonderful a weekend as we are!

~Moxie

[…] Got to – got to! – finish the second sock for Miss Christine and the second panel of the-afghan-that-ate-my-life. Then ..maybe a bigger version of the bag? Maybe I can fit a small headband into the schedule soon too. […]



[…] to – got to! – finish the second sock for Miss Christine and the second panel of the-afghan-that-ate-my-life. Then ..maybe a bigger version of the bag? […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
