Moxie & Mel











{August 29, 2006}   Dear Mel-

How’s life in tornado alley? Last time I spoke to you it was a ‘duck and cover’ exercise accompanied by loud sirens, so I’m hoping your town came through unscathed.

Endless SkyMore on weather later…first…our weekend.

We had the BEST time! First, we headed west on 70 towards Sarasota. We really enjoyed the more ‘backwoods’ section of the state and had a ball just gawking like tourists. At one point we passed a billboard that read, “You should see the state you’re in!”. Boy are they right!

As we went through the little town of Arcadia we ‘mentally noted’ some really amazing buildings, deciding to cut the trip slightly short so we could go back and investigate. We headed on towards our destination and finally arrived at Sarasota Cay Club.

View From The RoomThey let us check in three hours early and even upgraded our room to a marina view for free. Can’t beat that!
After having a toddy at the hotel bar we headed out to meet up with Nicole and Taylor at St Armands Circle. What an amazing place that is! The shops were quite dangerous, filled with great products everywhere you looked. We spent some time browsing the stores, drooling over shoes and then headed off for an early dinner at the Tommy Bahama Cafe. Yummy! That is all I can say about the food. The place was so relaxing and the service was excellent; I highly recommend it to anyone in the area. Nicole and Taylor
After dinner we headed back out and wandered the shops some more. A quick stop at the Starbucks procured coffee for three of us and Jim went in for a waffle cone at Scoopdaddys. Then we wandered over to the beach to check out the sunset.

Sunset

Downtown ViewsWe snapped a few pictures and then it was off to the hotel to retire for the night. The next morning we woke up early and wandered downtown. I can’t even begin to tell you about all the amazing- AMAZING!!- stores and such downtown. YOU HAVE TO GO! You’ll love it! I took a TON of pictures, which you can see here.

Arcadia County BuildingAfter spending quality time with Jim and my Fuji, we hopped back in the van and headed home. When we reached Arcadia, we absolutely had to stop. The first thing we explored was the county building, which is a stunningly preserved bit of history. The architecture in this building is so beautiful, and I was enjoying just standing in front of it, but Jim noticed something and drug me off into the back streets of Arcadia.

Historic HomeHe’d found an old double shotgun residence, early 1900s, that was not only for sale, but was OPEN. Sure, I know, we’re not supposed to just help ourselfs inside, but we just could NOT resist! The place was just awe inspiring and made us wish we had the money to lovingly restore it. CounterweightsThe owners had completed a tear out, as we believe it was suffering from storm damage (common now in Florida). The roof was leaking and it was starting to affect the interior of the structure, but under the dirt and the dust were beautiful hardwood floors, four fireplaces, wide french doors and windows that still had their original counterweights!

Before we left Arcadia I spotted this gorgeous wedding dress in the window of a little local bridal shop:

Wedding Dress

The details on the dress were impressive. Too bad I’m not looking for a dress!

Once we got home, I got back to work. I finished up Princess’ WIP, a neck pillow:

Neck Pillow

It’s lumpy, but strangely VERY comfortable. I also whipped up some slipper socks for myself, which I have fallen deeply in love with already.

Slipper Socks

Right now I’ve worked up something that is going to be a wrap…or a shrug…or….I can’t decide. LOL.

I am thinking that I’ll start on a bag next. And work on the afghan. Maybe. Jim suggested the afghan become a table runner. *grin* I think he thinks I have forsaken it. Well…..maybe I have. Not sure yet.

Today I went down to the county administration building and got a sparkly new badge. It reads, “Emergency Services, Priority One”. I feel impressive..lol. What it really means is, “Starting next Tuesday, you will work 6pm-2am learning archaic police codes and seldom-used street names in order to prepare you to assist the citizens of our local with their emergency situations.” I like the shorter version better.
And now back to the weather.

TS Ernesto is headed our way.

Ernesto Path

We’re not overly concerned about it, as it weakened a lot over Cuba, but we are preparing. The usual things are going on (stocking up on water, food, batteries, gasoline, blah blah blah) and we’re preparing for (ack!) losing power. We have a backup generator complete with two portable air conditioning units (Florida+ August+ No A/C= BAD) and we’ve cleaned up the yard (did I mention we have Plumeria blooms FINALLY?).

Anyhoo, if you don’t hear from me for a day or two (ugh!) don’t panic, we’ve probably just lost our connection abilities.

And with that, I’m going to go work on my shawl-shrug-sweater thinggie and then head off to pick up the kiddies from their various educational establishments!

Talk to you soon~

Moxie

PS~

Forgot to mention I finished the hat that goes with the pink and chocolate scarf. Here’s the picture:

Strawberries and Chocolate

Leave a Reply

et cetera
