Moxie & Mel











{August 18, 2006}   Dear Mel-

I’m green with jealousy. I’m surprised you can’t see the glow from there. I took your advice and googled Shipshewana. I am now in tantrum mode; I wanna go! I do hope you’re taking pictures!
Instead of browsing through cool handmade kitsch like you, I got to spend most of my day (again) dealing with the bureaucracy (i chose that word because of definition #3 on dictionary.com, which states, “An administrative system in which the need or inclination to follow rigid or complex procedures impedes effective action”) of the school system here. I feel like I need a Relpax just from remembering it, so I won’t go into detail.

As a sort of occupational therapy I decided to skip the afghan (so boring, so..red) and do something fun. In the spirit of WIP Friday (Work In Progress Friday from here and here) I am now sharing pictures of my never-before-seen WIP. I believe I will call it “Chasing Waterfalls”. FYI, the turquoise is VERY brilliant, almost [dare I say it] NEON in comparison to the chocolate. I’m lovin’ the whole concept and its turning out better than I could have hoped for.

Retro Stripe

Retro Stripe

Retro Stripe

I whipped this up (for the most part) while at the ‘Castle’ park with Bubba. He played in the towers and I sat in the shade with my treasures. All in all a rather relaxing experience.

I’ve decided we’ll have pizza for dinner tonight while I keep working on the retro scarf…it’s way too hot here to cook. Thank goodness for the air conditioner or it would be too hot to do anything, even create!

Talk to you soon!

-Moxie

PS: Still waiting on those pictures of the oft-ripped-out-and-redone-choker. Hurry Hurry! LOL

PPS: If Mel is good, Santa might just provide her with a bag in her stocking. Or maybe a bag AS her stocking!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
